Home

TheSinner.net

Meeting peole

If you're panicking about anything, ask your question here and someone will be happy to help. For more serious issues you'd rather discuss in confidence, visit Student Support Services.

Meeting peole

Postby pixieFairy on Mon May 03, 2010 6:44 pm

Hi all,

I know this is a topic that is posted here quite often, but still looking for some advice:

I am a graduate of the Uni, but no longer studying, just living and working around here now, but it's such a small place, sometimes it can be hard meeting new people.

Just wondering if anyone has any advice on how to meet new people, without going down the traditional route of joining societies etc.

Any advice much appreciated! :)
pixieFairy

Re: Meeting peole

Postby ONeill on Tue May 04, 2010 11:44 am

Sounds like you are in much the same boat as me. I've always found that the best way to meet new people is to have something better to do than to meet new people. My choice was to rejoin the Sports Centre and hit the gym. Within a few weeks I was able to find new friends with similar interests which quickly opened doors to getting involved in other sports.

In my case, that's pretty much what I was looking for. If you aren't into the exercise thing then I guess it could be a little harder to find people.
ONeill

Postby Emmeline on Wed May 26, 2010 6:48 pm

pixieFairy wrote:Hi all,

I know this is a topic that is posted here quite often, but still looking for some advice:

I am a graduate of the Uni, but no longer studying, just living and working around here now, but it's such a small place, sometimes it can be hard meeting new people.

Just wondering if anyone has any advice on how to meet new people, without going down the traditional route of joining societies etc.

Any advice much appreciated! :)

Hi Pixie!