Home

TheSinner.net

What if I want to work out?

This message board is for discussing anything in any way remotely connected with St Andrews, the University or just anything you want. Welcome!

What if I want to work out?

Postby Cinema on Sun Sep 13, 2009 3:04 am

So... I'm a PG student, been matriculatin' online, and it mentioned that I have to pay a gym fee and a fee every time I want to work out. Is this accurate? So, it is like 33 pounds + 3 every time I want to work out? This seems quite expensive...

Is this accurate as far as just wanting to work out at the gym goes? Is it a better idea to join some of the clubs for exercise instead?

Thanks for any advice.
Cinema

Re: What if I want to work out?

Postby munchingfoo on Sun Sep 13, 2009 10:49 am

You have to pay the membership fee even if you want to use the facilities with a club, so you can take that out of the equation.

If you buy 40 gym passes in one go it works out about 75p each which isn't too bad.

The other option is to use east sands leisure centre. I pay a one time fee here and get and unlimited free swimming for £110 per year. You can do a similar thing for the gym.
I'm not a large water-dwelling mammal Where did you get that preposterous hypothesis? Did Steve
munchingfoo

Postby Haunted on Sun Sep 13, 2009 3:39 pm

There's another gym behind NG's (citigym?), no idea what their prices would be.
Genesis 19:4-8
Haunted

Postby ojk6 on Sun Sep 13, 2009 4:17 pm

munchingfoo wrote:If you buy 40 gym passes in one go it works out about 75p each which isn't too bad.

I heard talk that they'd stopped doing the multi-passes in higher denominations than 20, meaning the cheapest you can get now is 20 for £25.50, working out at slightly more than £1.25 a visit. Do you know if this is true (it is according to http://www.st-andrews.ac.uk/sport/SportsCentre/Prices/)?
ojk6

Postby ojk6 on Sun Sep 13, 2009 4:21 pm

Haunted wrote:There's another gym behind NG's (citigym?), no idea what their prices would be.