Home

TheSinner.net

American JYA student

Any questions about St Andrews? Ask here! The older, wiser generation will be sure to fill you in. Many people have decided on St Andrews after reading these boards, so give it a go!

American JYA student

Postby Ashley on Thu Mar 15, 2007 8:36 am

Hi everyone, I'm an American student who is going to be spending the 2007-2008 academic year at St Andrews and was just wondering if anyone had some tips for me about what the Uni is really like. I've seen all the brochures but wanted to know what the students, classes, parties, sports teams, and so on are really like. Also, what residence would be the best to meet people and make friends? And what do British guys think of American girls? :) I'm looking for any info at all -- so thanks!!
Ashley

Re:

Postby lauraelizabeth on Sat Mar 17, 2007 5:30 pm

if you have the money, go for DRA cause its got the best facilities and double beds, en suite, self catered etc, and you get to meet a load of people too. but its a mile and half walk into town. there are no night clubs but the bop is quite cool of a friday evening, and there are millions of sports teams for you to join..
lauraelizabeth

Re:

Postby unreg on Thu Mar 22, 2007 7:59 pm

Quoting lauraelizabeth from 17:30, 17th Mar 2007
if you have the money, go for DRA cause its got the best facilities and double beds, en suite, self catered etc, and you get to meet a load of people too.

IMO DRA is one of the most un-sociable halls - people never come out of their flats, and its in the middle of nowhere. Go for McKintosh - its in the middle of town next to the union right in the middle of everything.
unreg

Re:

Postby OhhMy on Tue Mar 27, 2007 12:50 pm