Home

TheSinner.net

banking question...

Any questions about St Andrews? Ask here! The older, wiser generation will be sure to fill you in. Many people have decided on St Andrews after reading these boards, so give it a go!

banking question...

Postby user on Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:55 pm

So, I'm an American incoming postgraduate student who would, presumably, be looking to open a bank account for the time I spend in the UK.

Is there any bank in particular that anyone would recommend? (The University sent enclosed a letter from RBOS, is that considered the best?)

Is there anyway to get a UK debit or credit card without any local address history? Do any of the bank accounts come with one that might be extended to a foreign national? I discovered that my US bank will charge me $1 for each foreign transaction (as well as a poor exchange rate) and I've gotten out of the habit of carrying cash. So, any suggestions?
user

Re:

Postby David Bean on Wed Sep 19, 2007 7:28 pm

First of all, I know that Americans generally can and do get a UK bank account, but I'm not aware of the precise mechanics of the situation. Second, if anyone can confirm that the St Andrews branch is okay and they'll make it available to foreigners, I'd say go for Natwest, for the simple reason that you'll get a free railcard.

[hr]

Psalm 91:7
Psalm 91:7
David Bean

Re:

Postby Bread Roll on Wed Sep 19, 2007 8:06 pm

Quoting David Bean from 20:28, 19th Sep 2007
First of all, I know that Americans generally can and do get a UK bank account, but I'm not aware of the precise mechanics of the situation. Second, if anyone can confirm that the St Andrews branch is okay and they'll make it available to foreigners, I'd say go for Natwest, for the simple reason that you'll get a free railcard.

The last time I checked, there isn't a Natwest in St Andrews. But aren't RBS and Natwest (and Ulster Bank) all one and the same these days anyway? I don't know if that means you'd get a free railcard at RBS though.....