Home

TheSinner.net

Academic Families... or lack of them...

Any questions about St Andrews? Ask here! The older, wiser generation will be sure to fill you in. Many people have decided on St Andrews after reading these boards, so give it a go!

Academic Families... or lack of them...

Postby clarestar90 on Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:52 pm

Hey! I'm a 1st year Maths student; and like a lot of 1st years I've spoken to I'm worried 'bout the whole academic family system!! I have an academic mum (who is lovely) but no academic dad... and 'cause I'm only 17 I can't go out and meet him in a pub whilst very drunk- like most of my friends have... I'm going home for Reading Week as well so starting to worry a little that I'm gonna be father-less... :( Advice anyone??????
x
clarestar90

Re: Academic Families... or lack of them...

Postby orudge on Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:15 pm

Are you part of any societies or sports clubs? It can be good to meet people through societies, and indeed, you may find yourself with a much better dad than if you just go and ask the first random drunk guy you see out!
orudge
Administrator

Postby starsandsparkles on Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:40 pm

orudge wrote:Are you part of any societies or sports clubs? It can be good to meet people through societies, and indeed, you may find yourself with a much better dad than if you just go and ask the first random drunk guy you see out!

Good advice.

You could ask your mum if she has any suitable friends, or get chatting with your friends' dads too :)
starsandsparkles

Postby Freaker on Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:52 pm

Will there be an 'Academic Orphan's Bop' this year, the Friday before Raisin Weekend?
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days attack me at once.
Freaker

Postby clarestar90 on Tue Oct 14, 2008 10:04 pm