Home

TheSinner.net

Lifetime Membership of Union Perks?

If you're panicking about anything, ask your question here and someone will be happy to help. For more serious issues you'd rather discuss in confidence, visit Student Support Services.

Lifetime Membership of Union Perks?

Postby Oldbie on Wed Nov 19, 2008 2:12 pm

I'm a graduate with a normal lifetime membership card to the union and I was just wondering what that entitled me to attend event wise? I know I can get in the union, but would I for example be able to use the photocopiers or other services? Eat in the union? Get into events, join societies etc? Pick up some posters at the next sale? :)

I have e-mailed the union a couple of times now to ask but never got a reply, and I can't find much information on the website either. So I thought I would try the trusty old Sinner!

Thank you in advance for any help.
Oldbie

Re: Lifetime Membership of Union Perks?

Postby Thalia on Wed Nov 19, 2008 2:34 pm

As far as i know, it means you can do all the things normal union members do. You can definitely join societies and go to the bop because i have a lifetime membership and have done so :)
"This is my story. It'll go the way I want, or I'll end it here"
--Final Fantasy X
Thalia

Postby Bizarre Atheist on Wed Nov 19, 2008 4:10 pm

Other perks:

- You may dismiss anything an ordinary member says with the phrase 'That's not how we did it in my day.'
- Once a year Royce Hunt will personally tell you a defunct Association law that you never knew existed
- The reigning President is legally obliged to salute you as you drive past the building

I think all that's easily worth a tenner.
You wouldn't steal a handbag. You wouldn't steal a car. You wouldn't steal a containership full of tanks. Piracy is a crime, do not accept it.
Bizarre Atheist

Postby Lid on Wed Nov 19, 2008 6:43 pm

Bizarre Atheist wrote:- You may dismiss anything an ordinary member says with the phrase 'That's not how we did it in my day.'