Home

TheSinner.net

HELP! Ye olde curse of Patrick Hamilton

This message board is for discussing anything in any way remotely connected with St Andrews, the University or just anything you want. Welcome!

HELP! Ye olde curse of Patrick Hamilton

Postby *Lulu* on Sun Jul 10, 2005 11:35 am

Greetings dear reader! Please take a moment to read my little pitch: I'm a starving writer looking for info on what students think about the warning not to step on the PH outside Sallies chapel. Do you avoid it, do your friends? do you know anyone who blames their poor grades or other agues on having staggered onto the PH one drunken night? Do you brazenly march over it daily and continue to receive 20/20? do you believe his face was burned in the stone by psychic means or did someone do a hammer and chizzle job?
Any little feedback is much appreciated and if you leave your e-mail address i will tell you if and when the findings are published.
Cheers!
Louise
*Lulu*

Re:

Postby Big X on Sun Jul 10, 2005 12:34 pm

well, about an hour before i started my final (and first, this possibly has something to do with the rest of the story) revision session for a certain 1st year module i was in a bit of a rush to get to the library before it shut and accidently stepped on patricks initials, 2 weeks later i recieved a mark of, well, less than 5 for the module. proof if ever you needed it!!

[hr]

"Never apologise for showing feeling, in doing so you apologise for truth" Disraeli
"Never apologise for showing feeling, in doing so you apologise for truth" Disraeli
Big X

Re:

Postby David Bean on Sun Jul 10, 2005 2:05 pm

I always walk around the initials. Not only because of superstition (I've already graduated, and I continue to avoid them), but also out of respect: a man died on that spot, a martyr, and so it only seems appropriate to step politely around. Sometimes I think the superstitious aspects can trivialise its true significance.
Psalm 91:7
David Bean

Re: