Home

TheSinner.net

The Library

This message board is for discussing anything in any way remotely connected with St Andrews, the University or just anything you want. Welcome!

The Library

Postby Grandpa on Mon Nov 21, 2005 10:29 pm

The library is a disgrace. This is meant to be a world-class institution, and I should be proud to say I studied here - I'm sure I will be - but I'd be even more proud to say I studied at a university with a library conducive to studying. Not only are there insufficient books for the numbers of students (for example five books between 300 students, minus the ones who are going to buy their own books (not core texts) probably equals somewhere in the region of 299) but also the library is atmosphereless, uninviting and understocked.

Instead of spending lots on new student accomodation, why don't we focus on the primary reason for st andrews - to educate to the highest standards in Scotland, and easily amongst the highest in Britain entire. Providing a long list (20+ in most cases) of books on a single topic reading list is hardly any use when half the books appear as ''misplaced'' or ''in library'' when they never are. I suggest that the library a) needs a fine combing for all it's books - sort out exactly what they do and do not have, and invest in the ones which are lacking, and b) needs repositioning, preferably somewhere where its hideous shape can also be hidden, such as underground.

I do not know one person who enjoys the library, its atmosphere or has ever been able to find ALL the books on a reading list. Yes, the reading list is likely to be exhaustive, but if you want the best, you're necessarily going to want to put in the extra reading.