Home

TheSinner.net

why do people study such useless degrees?

This message board is for discussing anything in any way remotely connected with St Andrews, the University or just anything you want. Welcome!

why do people study such useless degrees?

Postby Sabjeet on Wed Feb 22, 2006 6:06 pm

some examples - philosophy, english, art history. how will studying these help you get a job? moreover why do people waste their parents money studying for such a degree that won't be any use to them?

I'm studying economics and finance, and i think people who only take this degree are the smart ones. Others wasting their time doing philosophy etc are stupid because employers will ask them how will that help them.

Sabjeet
Sabjeet

Re:

Postby DrAlex on Wed Feb 22, 2006 6:07 pm

The Sinner: Where no one ever learned "if you haven't got any thing nice to say, don't say anything at all."
DrAlex

Re:

Postby Duggeh on Wed Feb 22, 2006 6:10 pm

Certainly true if they want a job in economics. Not so if they want a job in philosophy. Which, lets be honest, your economics degree would hvae employers saying "what use is that?"

[hr]

IMAGE:www.macintyre42.plus.com/images/tb2-100.jpg
Duggeh: Master Of Ceremonies
Duggeh

Re:

Postby David Bean on Wed Feb 22, 2006 6:14 pm

The original poster is either making a poor attempt at a joke, or doesn't understand what a university (or, indeed, academic education) actually is. I wonder which?

[hr]

Psalm 91:7
Psalm 91:7
David Bean

Re:

Postby Al on Wed Feb 22, 2006 6:18 pm

Why do people study such "stupid" subjects? Hmmmm. Because they like them? Because they have a talent for them? Because - gasp! - they want to?
Al

Re:

Postby flarewearer on Wed Feb 22, 2006 6:19 pm

Quoting Sabjeet from 17:43, 22nd Feb 2006
I'm studying economics and finance, and i think people who only take this degree are the smart ones.

Well you're obviously breaking the mould by being such a complete moron

[hr]

image:www.magnificentoctopus.com/x/elgar.png