Home

TheSinner.net

Too many Americans?

This message board is for discussing anything in any way remotely connected with St Andrews, the University or just anything you want. Welcome!

Too many Americans?

Postby Kate on Mon Apr 24, 2006 8:42 am

Hi! I am a student from the US trying to decide about St. Andrews for uni. I was just wondering, is the place overflowing with Americans? As an American student, would it be possible to have lots of English and Scottish friends? Are there more Americans than Scottish or English students? Thank you so much for your help!
Kate

Re:

Postby DrAlex on Mon Apr 24, 2006 8:45 am

This subject line is going to really egg on the trolls, so I'll get in there quick...

There are a lot of Americans here, so you are all but guaranteed to become friends with some when you come. However, in most places I've been, they/we tend to build little colonies and live in a little bubble with each other, and here I don't often see that. You get it sometimes in the year abroad students who, for whatever reason, are just happier that way. You can meet people from just about anywhere in the world here: I have friends from the US and Canada, but most are English, Scotish and from the Continent.

If you have any more questions, feel free to browse through the New Students! First Years! board.

[hr]

"Listen to DrAlex."-Polli
http://standrews.facebook.com/profile.php?id=37100343
The Sinner: Where no one ever learned "if you haven't got any thing nice to say, don't say anything at all."
DrAlex

Re:

Postby samthehaggis on Mon Apr 24, 2006 8:46 am

Well, that depends on what groups you join. Some American students come here and make all American friends because they join groups almost entirely populated by Americans. I'm an American student, and I can confidently say that I have very few American friends, so that should tell you that there are plenty of British people to befriend. Either that, or that I don't have many friends...
samthehaggis

Re: