Home

TheSinner.net

How can something be in two places at once?

This message board is for discussing anything in any way remotely connected with St Andrews, the University or just anything you want. Welcome!

How can something be in two places at once?

Postby New Scientist on Sat Jul 26, 2008 3:59 pm

I have just read the article here: http://www.technologyreview.com/Infotech/21086/?a=f about researchers being able to control the position of a single electron in a silicon circuit.

I'm no scientist and my knowledge of quantum mechanics is laughable but I am a keen albeit frequently perplexed enthusiast. My puzzlement is when the article states that "the electron [was] in two places at once". I can't conceive how something can be in two places at once. Surely if there was an electron in one place and then a counterpart appeared somewhere else, the original electron is the one that hasn't moved from it's original position and the newcomer in a different location is merely a copy?

For something to be a different entity it surely requires that the entity is both:
- in another location (i.e. not sharing the space of another entity), and
- of itself (i.e. not part of the same matter of another entity)

Why is it the case that this '2nd' electron is not applicable to this definition?

Thank you for any replies and apologies if I have made any glaring errors.

p.s. I've posted this here because it seems to be moderated more frequently than the Science board.
New Scientist

Re:

Postby Tigger on Sat Jul 26, 2008 7:37 pm

Quoting New Scientist from 16:59, 26th Jul 2008
I have just read the article here: http://www.technologyreview.com/Infotech/21086/?a=f about researchers being able to control the position of a single electron in a silicon circuit.