Home

TheSinner.net

JYA

Your opportunity to discuss goings on in the Debating Society, recent debates or any issues you believe are important. Questions or queries can be addressed to the moderator at debates@st-andrews.ac.uk.

JYA

Postby LBR on Sat Mar 15, 2003 3:34 pm

Hi--

I am an international student who is studying abroad at Oxford or St. Andrews next year. I have been debating for about six years. I have to decide between these two universities within the next two weeks. I definitely want to debate in the UK, and would love to talk to some members of the team before I make my decision.

Thanks,
Lindsay

lrichman@bowdoin.edu
LBR

Re:

Postby John Stewart on Sat Mar 15, 2003 6:18 pm

Lindsay,

Please feel free to give me an e-mail at js67@st-andrews.ac.uk.

I am the man in charge of the team at present.

John
John Stewart

Re:

Postby David Bean on Sun Mar 16, 2003 12:53 am

Also, I recieved your request to be put on the mailing list; we send out emails weekly which have all the details of the events and things that we put on, and so you'll recieve your first on Wednesday.
Psalm 91:7
David Bean

Thanks!

Postby LBR on Sun Mar 16, 2003 12:31 pm

Thanks so much for all your help!! I am likely going to come to St. Andrews.

By the way, if anyone knows which residences houses are the best, I'd love some feedback on that, too. :o)

--Lindsay
LBR

Re:

Postby John Stewart on Sun Mar 16, 2003 3:45 pm

Stay away from Melville or DRH.

Although the new DRH would be rather nice.

New Hall apparently has no social life.

Also, if you do an arts subject, best to stick to the halls in town, unless you like a mile and a half walk in the morning...

Oh wait, afternoon. I forgot that arts students don't do any work...
John Stewart

Re:

Postby stan on Sun Mar 16, 2003 9:29 pm

read the sinner reviews on halls as there testimonies from previous convicts. also check out the polls held recently on the sinner main board for general consensus towards halls.