Home

TheSinner.net

Can't choose 3rd subject

Any questions about St Andrews? Ask here! The older, wiser generation will be sure to fill you in. Many people have decided on St Andrews after reading these boards, so give it a go!

Can't choose 3rd subject

Postby Luke on Sun Sep 11, 2005 7:21 pm

I am studying English and Russian, but I literally have no idea what to do for my third subject. Which modern language is the easiest, takes up the least class time, or all of the above? International relations? What is it like? I also considered Ancient History. Any advice from older students?
Luke

Re:

Postby DrAlex on Sun Sep 11, 2005 8:27 pm

May I recommend philosophy? I was at a loss to find a third subject in second term, so I did what I always do in quandries. I asked myself: what will effect my daily life least, and what will have the hottest girls?

Logic and Intro to Religion. I was not disappointed.

[hr]

RUSH KATO '05!

rush.kato@gmail.com
The Sinner: Where no one ever learned "if you haven't got any thing nice to say, don't say anything at all."
DrAlex

Re:

Postby Marie55 on Mon Sep 12, 2005 5:47 am

Social Anthropology is quite good as a 3rd subject. It's interesting and not too time consuming. There's a fair bit of reading for tutorials but I suppose it wouldn't seem so much to an English student.
I have to recommend my subject, Psychology. Not easy, but a fascinating subject with a multiple choice exam in 1st year. Anywayz, good luck in your choice.
Marie55

Re:

Postby Bob on Mon Sep 12, 2005 3:53 pm

I study German and Russian and think that they go great together German's pretty simple once you get the hang of it, very phonetical. Though it totally depends if you've studied it before.
Bob

Re:

Postby wankymuff on Fri Mar 17, 2006 12:27 pm