Home

TheSinner.net

overseas weekend

This message board is for discussing anything in any way remotely connected with St Andrews, the University or just anything you want. Welcome!

overseas weekend

Postby R.M. on Sun Aug 18, 2002 8:17 pm

I am a European student starting my studies at St Andrews this autumn. I'm not sure about this overseas weekend business. Is it necessary? Or is it mostly social? I don't want to make friends with only other international students, and I'm afraid if I go to the Weekend, this will be the case. Any experience with this?
R.M.

Re:

Postby Oli on Sun Aug 18, 2002 11:00 pm

Have a look at www.thesinner.co.uk/article-view.php?article=155 for a few more details

I haven't experienced any of the events myself, so I'm afraid I can't comment further.
Oli

Go!

Postby Nina on Tue Aug 20, 2002 1:18 pm

Hm... Okay, so i admit that most of, i.e. all except for one or two, of my friends are international, so in a sense me telling you what a fantastic time i had as a first year at the overseas weekend is besides the point...

Yeah, you'll probably get lots of non-British friends if you decide to go to the weekend, but that doesn't necessarily rule out you making lots of British friends later on. I'd definatley go - if only to get to know the town and to figure out how the banks etc. function. Believe me, a lot of stuff in the UK is different from what you're used to on the continent...

By the way, where in Europe are you from?
Nina

and so it begins...

Postby R.M. on Tue Aug 20, 2002 6:17 pm

Nina, thank you for replying. However, this sort of "Oh-you're-from-xland-?-i'm-from-xland-we'll-be-best-friends!!!" thing is more or less what I'm trying to avoid. And as much as I'd like to watch all the Americans go into donut withdrawal, I think I may give the weekend a miss. Although the Scottish culture bits seemed interesting, so we'll see.
R.M.

Re:

Postby underworlddreams on Tue Aug 20, 2002 7:38 pm