Home

TheSinner.net

calling computer experts out there!

If you're panicking about anything, ask your question here and someone will be happy to help. For more serious issues you'd rather discuss in confidence, visit Student Support Services.

calling computer experts out there!

Postby tom on Wed Jul 09, 2008 7:49 pm

the core duo 2 processor..what is this exactly? my knowledge of computers today is somewhat out of date as i have been using my current laptop for 4 years now. and while its still going strong, my only complaint is that the fan is very loud and it kicks in too early now, and can heat up quickly too. even when shutting down programs and unecessary operations, the same thing happens. plus, i think its time to move on anyway, so am thinking of getting a new laptop.

how good is this model?
Acer Aspire 8920G / Core 2 Duo T9300 2.5GHz / 4GB / 640GB / 18.4" / Blu Ray / Vista Ultimate / Laptop / Notebook (Gemstone Blue)
(from play.com, £1350 approx)

i am thinking of getting this computer..i like to consider it an investment for long term use. i'll be using it mainly for internet, perhaps playing the odd game or so, and watching dvds/bluray etc.

but i like to know how does a 'core duo 2 processor' work..is this two processors rolled up in one, with one chip doing all the background operations like antivirus etc, while the other chip focuses on the things the user is doing?

furthermore..in regards to the memory, RAM, does more memory reduces the 'stress' a computer goes through..by this, i mean the more memory, the more it can do. with my current computer, it only has 512mb..and my processor is a celeron, and it seems to be knackered since it tends to freeze abit as well and i notice when this happens the fan is screaming.

anything else i should look out for in laptops today, let me know!
tom

Re:

Postby munchingfoo on Wed Jul 09, 2008 8:28 pm